Wear Your Love Like Heaven

When designing these two cards for my Stamping Hostess Group this weekend, I didn’t know exactly what I would end up with before I started. In the case of this collage-type Butterfly card, I knew that I wanted to use a layout similar to one of the cards that I had published in the Summer 2015 issue of The Stampers’ Sampler. But those cards were a bright Vermilion red and I wanted to change the color scheme. So I started by die cutting the big butterfly from the Bohemian Designer Series paper. From that, I took the Blackberry Bliss and Bermuda Bay colors that make up the rest of the card, with accents of gold and cork. (I purchased a sheet of rolled up cork at the hardware store; you can stamp on it and die cut it in the Big Shot just like card stock.)

July Stamp Card 1

I also chose the colors for the next card from the Bohemian Designer Series Paper, although we didn’t use any of it on this card. The background is Rich Razzleberry card stock. The colored panel was done as a resist on Whisper White card stock; after embossing, a white crayon was rubbed over the raised design before sponging with Delightful Dijon, Island Indigo and Rich Razzleberry inks.

July Stamp Card 2

As I looked at both cards together, the words to several Donovan songs kept running through my mind: “Sunshine Superman,” “Wear Your Love Like Heaven,” and “Mellow Yellow” – so much about sunshine, rainbows, and color in his lyrics!

So, there was a little bit of stamping and a lot of papercrafting on both of these cards! Here are the supplies that I used on the Butterfly card:

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

 And here are the supplies that I used to make the Hello Sunshine card:

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

 I’m just mad about Saffron… and every other color of the rainbow!
Leave a Reply

Copyright Information:

© 2015-2016, Stamping With Valory, all rights reserved.
