Happy 84th, Dad!

Dad 84th Birthday

Yes, my dad is celebrating his 84th birthday this weekend, and I always try to make him a special and meaningful card. He was my first art teacher and I have learned so much from him! He promoted my love of paper when I was just a youngster by giving my sister and me a whole bureau full of odds and end-cuts from a friend who was a printer – endless paper to color, cut, glue and construct with in any way we chose.

I used stamps and die cutters from the Stampin’ Up! Number of Years bundle, using Stazon white ink over Pacific Point card stock for the number “84.” I used Chocolate Chip and Real Red inks on the floral stamp and accented it with the tiniest Basic Pearls.

I had one more circus postage stamp left that Kathy Degree sent us, and I thought it was perfect to imply that a long life well-lived really is the “greatest show on earth” for each of us personally. I also included a Blue Jay feather that I found on one of my walks around the neighborhood.

Happy Birthday, Vernon Krause of Auburn, CA; you are the best!

2011-04-16 13.11.15

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane Clark
    Apr 12, 2016 @ 21:58:32

    Your cards are always so creative! Wonderful to have the memory of dad teaching you art!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Information:

© 2015-2016, Stamping With Valory, all rights reserved.
