How to Get Inspiration From Swaps!

Touches of Texture Ann Swap

I attended a demonstrator’s gathering earlier this month where we swapped different card ideas, and this one was designed by Ann with the new Touches of Texture set, with a sentiment from the Perfectly Wrapped set. Her color scheme is Very Vanilla, Delightful Dijon and Night of Navy with a little Always Artichoke on the leaves. The corner accents of are made with one of the new Pop of Pink Designer Washi Tapes.

I also love working with the new Touches of Texture images, so I decided to make another card inspired by Ann’s yet different enough that it has my “stamp” on it (so to speak!) Here is the card that I designed:

Touches of Texture Denim

I used the same central flower image, and a similar color family, and the bee as an accent image. Here are the colors that I used on my card:

I also used a base of Very Vanilla, and a little Pear Pizzazz on the leaves, and the Basic Black Archival ink for the outlining of the images.

I used small images with tone-on-tone ink to make decorating the outside edges of the dark blue panel quick and easy. I first stamped the solid color piece of the flower center with Crushed Curry, then re-inked it in Pumpkin Pie and stamped again in a different spot to give the variegated color.

Mounting the flower-stamped card onto a piece of Pumpkin Pie cardstock at an angle gives it a little different look. The 5/8″ Gold Satin Ribbon is so beautiful but easy; it’s just tied in a square knot and then angle cut on the ends.

The last detail was the most whimsical; I stamped the bee on a scrap of Very Vanilla cardstock, cut it out with Paper Snips, colored it in with Crushed Curry Stampin’ Write Marker (but this could be done with a Blender Pen too) and I finished it with a little Clear Wink of Stella on the wings for sparkle. The bee was then attached with a small piece of Stampin’ Dimensionals for depth.

So here are our two cards, Ann’s and mine, one for inspiration and one as a result – both lovely:

Touches of Texture Pair

Here are the supplies that I used to make my card; click on any picture for more information or to go right to the online store for ordering:

These colors say “summer” to me; what colors would you use when stamping with this flower image?

 

Leave a Reply

Copyright Information:

© 2015-2016, Stamping With Valory, all rights reserved.
