Start With a Button…

In New England there is an expression that goes something like, “Start with a button and make a shirt,” meaning to begin with something small and make something larger out of it.

worktable

Yesterday I spent the day with my friend Ann, and we worked on several different projects, each of us sharing a new stamp set that the other doesn’t have. We had a great time together as we let the creative juices flow! Does your work table ever start to look like this when you get going on your projects? Wait, don’t tell me – I know the answer to that!

Before I left, Ann had unearthed a long-ago leftover die cut from the Rose Garden Thinlits that she had cut out of a piece of Rich Razzleberry  from the Designer Series Paper Stack. She handed it to me with the challenge, “Make something from this.”

So, when I got home I took that “button” and made a whole project around it:

Dotty Rose

What do you think? Was this a successful “button” transformation? You can just barely see it in this photo, but I also sparkled up the “hello” script with a coat of Clear Wink of Stella.

Sparkly Hello

Here are the colors that I used for the Dotty Rose card:

 

You can click on any color swatch to see what products Stampin’ Up! offers in those colors.

Did you notice anything different about the card? It is purely papercraft; no stamping at all! And something else; Ann and I had been talking about how neither one of us tend to use Always Artichoke in our cards, so I made a point to use that color in this one. I quite like it along with the other colors in the group, how about you?

Here are all the supplies I used and links directly to more information or easy online ordering. Here’s a tip: I mounted the script “hello” onto three rolled up glue dots; they are narrow enough to stay hidden and provide a modest height for dimension:

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lynne
    Jul 16, 2016 @ 13:53:34

    That is such a wonderful sentiment.
    What a fun time to spend together and to be sharing a new stamp set each. The card is so full of joy, very beautiful.
    Wishes
    Lynne

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Information:

© 2015-2016, Stamping With Valory, all rights reserved.
